The Student Room Group

How can I find work experience as a private school student?

I've gone on many individual companies' websites and places like Speakers For Schools. However, all of them require you to be a state school student.

How did you guys find work experience?

I'm an international student so my parents don't have many contacts here.
Reply 1
perhaps ask your head of sixth form/careers director if they have any advice. usually, especially since you go to a private school, the parents at the school will have a diverse range of jobs that you'll probably be interested in and then one of the two people mentioned above will be able to contact them for you

for me, my close friends mum has offered to let me shadow her for a day at her office. there are also some schemes that allow you to take part in the work experience if you meet other criteria or you're on a bursary (best to check with individual companies and email in - the worst they can do is say no)

if you need mentoring, project access accepts a diverse range of people. its all about really digging deep and staying up to date (linkedin can help with that)

what do you want to go into?

also keep in mind that work experience isn't ESSENTIAL. yes it is useful but if youre applying to unis, they kinda wanna see more super curriculars and stuff that shows that you actually want to study the subject
Reply 2
Thank you for your reply.

I'm not sure if I want to do something related to Law or Biology which is why I want to go get some work experience to see if I like office work or lab work more.

If I can't get work experience, what do you think about MOOCs? Do universities like them more or less than getting work experience or shadowing?
Original post by imloki

I'm not sure if I want to do something related to Law or Biology which is why I want to go get some work experience to see if I like office work or lab work more.