The Student Room Group

What to do about disillusionment.

I come from a very privileged position. My school is excellent, my grades are pretty good (in Y12), I am studying physics, economics and maths which I generally enjoy and I know offer good university and career opportunities later down the line.

I spent a while thinking about my interests and narrowed down my course choices to 2 options, either physics or international relations. I am confident I could get into a good university and do well in an international relations course however the pay and career opportunities I have looked at for the subject are not too promising. On the other hand I could do physics but the entry requirements for the courses at the best universities may be higher. This may mean I have to go to a less prestigious university, and I have absolutely no idea how much the prestige of a university affects employment and research opportunities.

Physics does come with the advantage of offering higher pay and career opportunities, at least on the surface, however I am not interested in a finance job and would probably go into research physics, which brings up the issue of income again. I know that my current income, or at least the goods and services I use would not match up with this future income. I have no idea if this would matter or not. There is nothing I want for and I have no desire to save or spend, and when I do it is usually small amounts irregularly. There is nothing I desire beyond what I currently have, at least from my perspective, for I have never experienced everything else, but I also do not know if I could live with less.

In my current situation, I have a small set of good friends who I do not speak to much due to the separation of study rooms in my school, but when I do I get on well with them. I have a very narrow set of interests due to a mental condition and this means I enjoy studying and researching on my own quite a lot, so I do not mind this sparse contact.