The Student Room Group

Tips On Dealing With Exam Anxiety

Hi, I'm a slightly (very) stressed person doing her A levels this summer.

Although I'm getting all my work/revision done, if I don't do an extreme amount of work each day I feel nervous and guilty that I haven't spent enough time revising.

Does anyone have any tips on how to deal with anxiety and worry about exams? A levels are just really intense and they're getting to me a lot.
As a psychologist, I've noticed that students, in general, do feel stressed and anxious about exams, especially when they are as important as A levels. However, it's important to find ways to manage your stress and anxiety so that they don't become overwhelming and interfere with your ability to perform well on the exams. Here are some tips that may be helpful:

Practice relaxation techniques: Taking a few minutes each day to practice relaxation techniques such as deep breathing, meditation, or yoga can help you manage stress and anxiety.

Stay organized: Create a study schedule that is realistic and manageable, and stick to it as much as possible. This will help you feel more in control and less overwhelmed.

Get enough sleep: Make sure you are getting enough sleep each night, as lack of sleep can increase stress and anxiety levels.

Exercise: Exercise is a great way to reduce stress and anxiety, so try to incorporate physical activity into your daily routine.

Talk to someone: If you are feeling overwhelmed or anxious, talk to someone you trust, such as a friend, family member, or teacher. They may be able to offer you support and advice.

Remember that it's important to take care of yourself both physically and mentally during this time. While it's important to study and prepare for your exams, it's also important to take breaks, relax, and engage in activities that you enjoy. Taking care of yourself will help you perform at your best on the exams.

Wish you the best!
Original post by Anonymous