The Student Room Group
Graduation garden party, Queen's University Belfast
Queen's University Belfast

Rejection from Queen’s Univeristy Belfast

I’m a mature age student, have just got a rejection on UCAS from Queen’s University for an Undergraduate Mental Health Nursing degree. The required IB score is listed on the website as 29 (no specific subject requirements). I have a 37 in the IB, meaning that I scored far more than the required entry mark. Could there be another reason to not even be granted an interview? Reference? Personal Statement?

Scroll to see replies

Original post by clogrove88
I’m a mature age student, have just got a rejection on UCAS from Queen’s University for an Undergraduate Mental Health Nursing degree. The required IB score is listed on the website as 29 (no specific subject requirements). I have a 37 in the IB, meaning that I scored far more than the required entry mark. Could there be another reason to not even be granted an interview? Reference? Personal Statement?

It will almost certainly be something else. The only way to find out is to ask them,
Graduation garden party, Queen's University Belfast
Queen's University Belfast
I'm guessing their IB offer would be 29 points with 555 at HL, (most likely needing Biology/Human Biology, Chemistry, Life & Health Sciences, Mathematics or Physics at HL). So if you meet that I agree, you'd need to ask for feedback.

Hi there,
I'm also a mature student and have required GCSES, Alevels and hold a degree. I got rejection from QUB for Midwifery, no interview either. Waiting to hear for Nursing. Nursing would be my first choice but not holding out much hope when received rejection and not even an interview 😕

I have applied for adult children and mental health I haven't heard anything back, have you contacted them to ask why ?
Reply 5