The Student Room Group
Carr Saunders Halls, LSE
London School of Economics
London

Bachelor in international relations

Hi
I am an international student from Europe.
I have been accepted at LSE for a Bachelor of international relations. I am afraid to go to LSE as I read the atmosphere is quite bad, not focusing on bachelors but rather on masters , very competitive with no real sense of student community.
Is that true ? Would you recommend LSE ? I have other good choices in IR (King’s college, St Andrews) and I must say I don’t know which one to chose !
Thanks a lot
Reply 1
:u:
(edited 11 months ago)
Carr Saunders Halls, LSE
London School of Economics
London
Reply 2
Original post by LittleSquirrel75
Hi
I have been accepted at LSE for a Bachelor of international relations. I am afraid to go to LSE as I read the atmosphere is quite bad, not focusing on bachelors but rather on masters , very competitive with no real sense of student community.
Is that true ? Would you recommend LSE ? I have other good choices in IR (King’s college, St Andrews) and I must say I don’t know which one to chose !
Thanks a lot

LSE is the best choice. It would be a very bad decision, if you choose not to go to LSE. Also, you can join student societies for a social life and religious societies. LSE is after all, highly academic. But when I visited the LSE library, (any member of the public with a Bank Statement and Passport IDs can join), there were a lot of Asians, who did not really mix. But a South Korean was friendly, and a French student, who showed how important Further Maths was. Also, some views in the library are stunning, so seats there get taken early in the morning.

Also, the library is so well stocked, you won't need to worry about textbooks or even eBooks.

More importantly, LSE has a better global reputation than KCL.

Just look at the library, it has 5,000 spaces with study desks, and a further 2,000 study spaces spread over the 5 floors as well. :smile: