The Student Room Group

Rank these for me please

Rank these Universities for me by prestige please
Bristol, Loughborough, Lancaster, Exeter, Birmingham, York, Leeds, Manchester, Nottingham

Scroll to see replies

Original post by riker123
Bristol, Loughborough, Lancaster, Exeter, Birmingham, York, Leeds, Manchester, Nottingham

These are all excellent universities, which regularly feature in the top 20 of the domestic rankings. There is little difference in so-called "prestige". What matters is that the course and location suits you. Study the details of the courses you are interested in and research the locations virtually - or better still, visit the ones most likely to end up as your first choice.
Nottingham no.1 thats it and thats not cus i go there..... but in all seriousness depends a lot on the subject and its a very subjective question and asnwer.
(edited 3 months ago)
Original post by username6661155

Hi @username6661155,
I'm in my 3rd year studying Geography at Lancaster. Its hard to rank the universities as they are all very different, and different people will want different things from their university experience, for instance some of these are campus and some are city uni's so will have a completely different feel to them. Its also important to look at your individual subject and see where these universities rank, the complete university guide is good for this, as you can see the different scored for things like graduate prospects and student satisfaction. Personally, i've really enjoyed my time at Lancaster, my course has been engaging and the university has a really community feel to it, due to it being slightly smaller than some other. If you have any questions about Lancaster, i'd be more than happy to help!
-Jasmine (Lancaster Student Ambassador)
Reply 4

Ok depends on the course. Sorry but a boss isnt going to go oooooh Bristol over York uni for example.