The Student Room Group

Shrouded In Shame

Good evening all, I hope you're doing well and enjoying your studies.

I am in my mid-30s and I recently left the workforce in order to do one of my life goals, that is to get my Bachelor's degree.

I am studying software development at the Open University and have started my first module. I studied over 10 years ago so I am effectly starting from year 2.

I have considered taking student finance to fund my tution fees but I have been back and forth about it as:

a) I have immense shame about taking money. I have been self sufficient for over a decade and always paid my own way and have felt like I am losing my independence a bit and riddled with guilt and shame.

b) I had a student loan the first time I went to Uni and I never managed to pay it off through my wages...ultimately, I decided to pay it off in a lump sum so I could become debt free. I feel shame when I think about getting into debt again.

I can scrape together enough money for fees to cover my degree but the cost will mean I will be having around £10 a week for food...I have been living like this since the start of the year and not eating properly is miserable but it means I won't be in debt. But I want to live not just survive.

Also, if I did go the loan route, it means I could also get my Masters degree, another life goal.

Does anybody else as an older student feel any kind of shame about the loans?

Thank you. All the best.
Original post by CheckMyBrain
I am in my mid-30s and I recently left the workforce in order to do one of my life goals, that is to get my Bachelor's degree.
I am studying software development at the Open University and have started my first module. I studied over 10 years ago so I am effectly starting from year 2.
I have considered taking student finance to fund my tution fees but I have been back and forth about it as: